I heard the news today … oh boy …

Used to be I looked forward to news. After all no news is bad news! Right? Well imaging my surprise when I opened my email today to be told of the memorial service for Meeks the Clown. Michael and I basically started our careers in Vancouver around the same time. He was at almost every event I got booked at for the first decade of my career in BC. He was one of those guys who was always there to help and looked at everything with a huge smile. Another victim of cancer. Michael leaves behind many family member who love him dearly and a community of entertainers who did as well …

Visit his blog to understand a little bit more about the man … CLICK HERE

MEEKING Michael Douglas June 16, 1961 – June 16, 2008 On his 47th birthday, Michael “Meeks The Clown” went to be with our Lord Jesus. He passed peacefully with his wife, Jody, and children Kyle, Alex, Brady and Kayla at his side. We will always remember Mike’s fun-loving smile and huge heart towards everyone he knew. We appreciate his courage and strength, which has given us the ability to continue to smile and laugh as we carry on. A celebration in Michael’s honour will be held on June 28th at Jericho Hill Centre Gymnasium (4196 W. 4th). Service will begin at 1:00 pm with a casual family picnic to follow. Bring your lawn chairs, blankets, and lunches!

“We can’t all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by.” – Will Rogers

One thought on “I heard the news today … oh boy …

  1. I only met Meeks once, but he made such a huge impression on me. Not only as someone that I admired as a fellow entertainer, but as a gentle person who was great with kids and people in general. I’m sorry to hear that he’s gone and wish I could have learned more from him.
    Sincerely, Lili-Kayy Park

Leave a comment