Remember …

Posted: November 11, 2008 in life in general, Rants

It has been sometime since I have entered anything into my blog. I have been super busy and will try to catch up by back writing about some of the exciting things in my life these past few weeks. I could not however miss writing today…

It’s November 11th and here in Canada and in many parts of the world we take time today to remember the men and women of our military who served their country to preserve the way we live. My Father was a proud member of the Canadian military, Air-force, for twenty-seven years. It was who he was and the pride I saw in his eyes when we talked about the military will always be a part of who I am too.

daduniform
264
183
Can you guess which is my Father?


Two years ago I found this video online from a Canadian artist named Terry Kelly. He captures the meaning of today for Canadians … both positive and negative. That people go on with the day without taking even a pittance of time to remember those that served and those that gave the ultimate sacrifice to preserve our way of life is beyond my comprehension … take a moment …

A Pittance Of Time 4:43
Written by Terry Kelly © Jefter Publishing – SOCAN
They fought and some died for their homeland.
They fought and some died, now it’s our land.
Look at his little child; there’s no fear in her eyes.
Could he not show respect for other dads who have died?

Take two minutes, would you mind?
It’s a pittance of time,
For the boys and the girls who went over.
In peace may they rest, may we never
forget why they died.
It’s a pittance of time.

God forgive me for wanting to strike him.
Give me strength so as not to be like him.
My heart pounds in my breast, fingers pressed to my lips,
My throat wants to bawl out, my tongue barely resists.

But two minutes I will bide.
It’s a pittance of time,
For the boys and the girls who went over.
In peace may they rest.
May we never forget why they died.
It’s a pittance of time.

Read the letters and poems of the heroes at home.
They have casualties, battles, and fears of their own.
There’s a price to be paid if you go, if you stay.
Freedom’s fought for and won in numerous ways.

Take two minutes, would you mind?
It’s a pittance of time,
For the boys and the girls all over.
May we never forget, our young become vets.
At the end of the line,
It’s a pittance of time.

It takes courage to fight in your own war.
It takes courage to fight someone else’s war.
Our peacekeepers tell of their own living hell.
They bring hope to foreign lands that hate mongers can’t kill.

Take two minutes, would you mind?
It’s a pittance of time,
For the boys and the girls who go over.
In peacetime our best still don battle dress
And lay their lives on the line.
It’s a pittance of time

In peace may they rest,
Lest we forget why they died.
Take a pittance of time.

Comments
  1. Paul F says:

    Great entry Shawn!

    regards

    Paul.

Leave a Reply

