My new location for the blog …

I have had my blog hosted by WordPress since it began but I realize I can also host the blog on my own site so you don’t have to leave.  I will continue to post on both to see which one is better.  Making my own is really much more of a challenge but already I have found I can post videos … which to me is AWESOME!

 

Tell me what you think … or better … what you know … {seesmic_video:{“url_thumbnail”:{“value”:”http://t.seesmic.com/thumbnail/STHywKb5Ft_th1.jpg”}”title”:{“value”:”New Blog feature “}”videoUri”:{“value”:”http://www.seesmic.com/video/V70ehnWC9H”}}}

Just before closing I was kind of bummed not to have the time or desire to go support David Copperfield on his recent visit to Vancouver. To be honest I wasn’t too impressed the last time I saw him in Vegas and so I decided to do other things instead. After reading the review in the Vancouver Province … well I think I made the right decision.

Duck! It’s David Copperfield

By Lisa Bettany
mostlylisa.com

Saturday, October 25, 2008

I really wished I hadn’t sat in the front row at David Copperfield’s “An Intimate Evening of Grand Illusion” at the Vancouver Centre for Performing Arts.

If I’d just been sitting a few rows back I wouldn’t have seen the wires that controlled the singing and dancing tie, or the slightly concave bottom of the magical “shrinking table,” or the girl that appeared and disappeared in the “reserved” seat next to me wearing three different outfits, or Copperfield’s caked-on makeup and spray-on hair.
Ouch. That was a low blow.

Maybe I’m just too cynical, or I’ve seen The Prestige one too many times, to be impressed with a duck being tossed on stage from behind the curtain.

In Copperfield’s defence, his show was very entertaining, and fast-paced enough to keep me off my iPhone for an hour and a half.

There were great moments, too. He is an incredibly skilful showman, and irritatingly charismatic, even when he made a poor girl shove her hand down his pants to make sure there was nothing in his pocket — not once, but twice. Charming.

I feel a bit naive for expecting to be completely wowed. But I just couldn’t get past the worn, cheap-looking props, and the massive amounts of noxious smoke blown into the audience, and the planted audience members who could hardly manage a smirk at his rehearsed one-liners, and the cheesy kitschiness of it all, to be amazed and bedazzled by the appearance of an old car on pillars in the middle of the stage. Because from my angle, I could see that it was a shell of fake car and the illusion was marred.

How he does a lot of his illusions still remains a mystery to me . . . mostly. OK, fine. The duck told me. And all it took was an Oh Henry bar.

© The Vancouver Province 2008

One thought on “My new location for the blog …

  1. Hey Shawn,

    I really like the new look. If this version helps you to do video easier I say stick with this one.

    For now I subscribed to both RSS feeds until you figure out which one you are going to stay with

    There are a few issues on this page (like the descriptions for the name, email and website fields are invisible in this Leave A Reply section) but i am sure you can get them worked out.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year To You!

    -Chuck

Leave a Reply

