Introducing Murphy 14 …

Posted: March 8, 2008 in life in general

For those of you who don’t know me personally ( and why not? ) I think an explanation is necessary before you read this entry. You see, I have a history of buying old, used, crappy vehicles for about a $1000 and then running them into the ground. This has always worked for me as I didn’t get much of a chance to drive having been on a cruise ship all these years. I have always called them “Murphy” after Murphy’s law. The most I have spent was the year my daughter, Hannah, was born. I bought “Murphy 13” for $6999.00 and he lasted almost a full seven years which means about $1000 a year … which is my average!

Well for most of you the thought of spending $19,000 on a vehicle is just normal. For me, I would rather spend it on a new illusion. Today I am the owner of a 2004 Nissan Pathfinder. This is the first vehicle I have purchased that was in the same decade! It’s a nice shiny SUV with new tires and great brakes and a fancy sunroof. Not that we get a lot of sun this time of the year but when the Summer comes I’ll be ready … oh that’s right I’ll be in California for June, Missouri and Kentucky for July and Ontario for August … well it would have been nice to use the sunroof!
pathfinder2.jpg

At $1.15 a liter for gas it cost over $70 to fill the tank. This is actually good as “Murphy 13” was a 1990 GMC Safari Van and it took over $100 to fill and sucked the gas through so fast I used to go to the muffler to see if it was just leaking out!

Hannah likes the new SUV and later today I plan to see if I can install an overhead DVD system so she can watch movies on the long drives I plan to take sooner or later … lol

Just to brighten your day I found this video on youtube … dreams do come true … really …

Comments
  1. Interestingly enough, I ALSO buy old cars and wear them out. Never made much sense to buy a new car, roll it off the lot and have it immediately lose a third of it’s value. Not to mention the higher insurance rates, monthly payments, etc…So, to you, BRAVO!

    : )

    Chipper

  2. John McDonald says:

    Unbelieveable Shawn! Thanks for sharing a truly great story.

  3. Kieron says:

    LOL……you crack me up man.nice car bro,welcome to 2008.honored to have taken the “farqmobile” to the gorge…miss you much

    Sent from my iPhone at the top of Mt.Charleston,near Las Vegas

Leave a Reply

